Lori Laffel MD MPH

Dr Lori Laffel is Chief of the Pediatric, Adolescent and Young Adult Section and a Senior Investigator/Head of the Section on Clinical, Behavioral and Outcomes Research at the Joslin Diabetes Center, as well as a Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School.

She has published more than 200 articles in peer reviewed journals. She also has been a member of the advisory board of the International Society of Pediatric and Adolescent Diabetes (ISPAD), a member of the Clinical Advisory Committee for the JDRF, and a member of JDRF’s Research Advisory Committee.

She is actively involved with the American Diabetes Association (ADA), as a member of the Boston Leadership Board, a past member of the National Board of Directors of the ADA, the National Committee for Professional Practice Guidelines, chair on the ADA’s Working Group on Transitions in Care for Young Adults with Diabetes, and past chair of ADA’s Youth Strategies Committee. She is also a member of ADA’s Pathway Mentor Advisory Program. She was Co-Chair of the JDRF CGM Study. She was also the co-editor on the ADA-JDRF Sourcebook on Type 1 Diabetes through the Lifespan.

Dr. Laffel is the current regional editor for the Americas for the journal Diabetic Medicine, the primary journal for the British Diabetes Association. In addition, she is chairing the upcoming annual clinical and scientific meeting of the International Society of Pediatric and Adolescent Diabetes (ISPAD), to take place in Boston, Massachusetts, from October 30-November 2, 2019.

Her research focuses on understanding and overcoming challenges to adherence in patients with diabetes in order to improve glycemic control, biomedical, and psychosocial outcomes; and optimizing use of diabetes technologies, including continuous glucose monitors and automated insulin delivery systems. She is the recipient of many NIH and foundation funded grants. She received ADA’s 2015 Outstanding Physician-Clinician Award, the Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce 2016 Pinnacle Award, and the 2016 University of Miami School of Medicine Hall of Fame Award.

Go Back